Author Topic: Alternative Build Order  (Read 29970 times)

Offline Ed C

• Able Seaman
    • Email
Re: Alternative Build Order
« Reply #75 on: February 08, 2012, 06:45:57 PM »
Dave please take this in the spirit it is intended. I love your posts and look forward to them. You crack me up. I was in the trades for 45 years. I was a carpenter for 40 years I guess I still am. You are what we referred to in the trade as a butcher.
I really doubt anybody could ever tell on your finished boat if your jig was 1/2 inch out of square.

The boat might not know it, but I would. There is no reason for a jig to be out of square, unless you can't read a tape. If you can't read a tape square it up with plywood, like Anthony did in his video.

Offline kiwi les

• Boson
    • Email
« Reply #76 on: February 08, 2012, 07:19:05 PM »
Having built boats for over 30 yrs now, the one thing that I did learn was to build straight and true using a spirit level and string lines. There is nothing worse than having a wine (twist) in the hull. Not to mention having a piece of mind knowing that it is true, the boat will run true and straight and have no strange tendencies like porpasing, or screwing off to one side running down waves. It is not hard to set up the formers straight and level from the word go. Set up with reasonable height so you can work underneath. I did a lot of my build while the hull was upside down. Might as well make yourself comfy doing it!

kiwi les

Offline pfithian

• Captain
« Reply #77 on: February 09, 2012, 03:16:37 AM »
I used the wood I-Beams because I felt it was the best way to insure a straight, square jig.  Which results in a straight, square boat. 

The cost for the right jig is almost nothing compared to the final value of the boat, but the wrong jig layout can convert all of your work investment into a boat that is not straight.
Made It Jumbo 25
Skiffkits No. 7025 1/2009
Build Start:  3/2009
Hull Flipped: 1/31/2010
Maiden Voyage:  9/16/2011

Offline David Nolan